Women's Soccer

Soccer Announces Team Awards at Year-End Banquet

Dec. 9, 2013

BOISE, Idaho --The Boise State women's soccer team held its annual year-end banquet on Sunday, and announced team awards for 2013. This year's award recipients were chosen through a vote by their teammates.

Attacking and Defensive MVP honors went to sophomore Brooke Heidemann and junior Mikhaila Bowden, respectively.

Heidemann, a sophomore from Meridian, Idaho, led the Broncos in goals this season with nine. She made her Bronco debut last year as the conference's freshman of the year, and exceeded her performance in her second season. Despite transitioning roles from a striker to an attacking midfielder, Heidemann remained prolific in the front line.

Bowden, a junior from Huntington Beach, Calif., anchored the team from the back line this season. Boise State boasted the best defense in the league, averaging less than 0.8 goals allowed per game. Bowden and the defense helped redshirt junior goalkeeper Maddy McDevitt etch her name to the top of the Bronco record books for most single-season shutouts.

Senior Katy Oehring garnered the MVP award this year. Oehring, from Littleton, Colo., dictated play from her position. Oehring's four goals and three assists this season was her strongest season as a Bronco. Along with being named to the all-tournament team, she scored two goals in the quarterfinal round of the conference tournament against Wyoming.

Rookie of the year honors went to Baylee Blaser. Blaser, the Boise, Idaho native, progressively improved throughout the season and became a force to reckon with. Blaser scored the game-winning goal in double overtime against New Mexico at home, handing the Lobos their second conference loss of the season.

KT Clayton garnered goal of the year honors for her double-overtime goal in the conference tournament semifinals against Fresno State. With seconds until penalty kicks, Clayton buried the ball into the far post to send the Broncos to the conference tournament finals.

Dominique Banks earned defensive play of the year from the same semi-final match against Fresno State. Fresno State had strung together a series of threatening attacks for a few minutes, and the Bronco defense was breaking down. A Fresno State attacker had McDevitt off her center and took a crack at the open side of the goal. Banks, the five-foot-four defender, timed her jump perfectly and headed the ball over the woodwork. Her play changed the momentum of the game and helped the Broncos earn the 2-1 victory.

The award for Top Bronco (for fitness) went to senior Gabby Garcia. Garcia went above and beyond what was asked of her, always training harder and longer. As head coach Jim Thomas said, "Gabby is as fit as anyone on the US Women's National Team."

The Bronco "BFF" award, given to the player who holds the team together like glue, went to senior Rebe Wolverton. On and off the pitch, Wolverton gave her team energy with her style of play and her demeanor. Wolverton created an instant impact every time she subbed onto the field, providing an energy boost for the team.

MVP Katy Oehring
Attacking MVP Brooke Heidemann
Defensive MVP Mikhaila Bowden
Offensive Play of the Year KT Clayton
Defensive Play of the Year Dominique Banks
Rookie of the Year Baylee Blaser
Top Bronco Gabby Garcia
BFF Award Rebe Wolverton

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned