Women's Swimming & Diving

Team Awards Announced at Annual Banquet

April 26, 2014

BOISE, Idaho-- The Boise State women's swimming & diving team announced the 2013-2014 team awards at the annual banquet on Friday night.

Included were the Swimmer of the Year and Diver of the Year, which went to Brittany Aoyama and Ciera Cortney, respectively.

Aoyama, a freshman from Stockton, Calif., became the first Bronco freshman to qualify for nationals individually. At the Mountain West Championships, she led the team with 49 points for the blue and orange. Aoyama earned All-Conference honors in seven events (50-yard freestyle, 100-yard freestyle, 100-yard butterfly, 200 freestyle relay, 400 freestyle relay, 200 medley relay and 400 medley relay). She tabbed the second-fastest 100 butterfly in school history (52.16) in her rookie season.

Cortney, a senior from Las Vegas, rewrote the Bronco record books this season. She holds the Boise State record on the three-meter springboard (342.15). Along with holding top ten Bronco records on one meter, three meter and platform, Cortney earned All-Conference honors on all three boards. She became the first Bronco to qualify for NCAA Zones four times.

The Most Improved award went to Sam Wicks. Wicks, a sophomore from Anchorage, Alaska re-set her own Boise State record in the 100-yard backstroke (53.02) at this year's conference championships. Wicks scored 41 points for Boise State, and nabbed All-Conference honors in the 100-yard backstroke, 100-yard freestyle, 200 freestyle relay, 400 freestyle relay, 200 medley relay and 400 medley relay. Wicks also qualified for nationals individually.

The Coaches' Award went to Blake Balogh. Balogh, a sophomore from Lincoln, Neb., has proven to be one of Boise State's solid long-distance swimmers. Balogh swam the third-fastest Bronco mile time this season (16:49.95). She earned All-Conference honors in the 800 freestyle relay this season.

The Bronco Heart Award this year went to Nikki Cannon. Cannon, a junior from Vancouver, Wash., was an All-Conference selection in the 100-yard and 200-yard backstroke. She scored 29 points at conference championships. Cannon was recognized with the honor for her effervescence both in and out of the pool.

Next year's team captains will be announced privately to the team next week.

Swimmer of the Year- Brittany Aoyama
Diver of the Year- Ciera Cortney
Most Improved- Sam Wicks
Coaches' Award- Blake Balogh
Bronco Heart Award- Nikki Cannon

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned