Moa Added To Polynesian POY List

Oct. 5, 2016

HONOLULU, Hawaii - Boise State redshirt sophomore nose tackle David Moa has been added to the Polynesian College Football Player Of The Year Watch List, the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced this week.

After making three tackles with a sack over four games in his first season of action in 2015, Moa has burst into the spotlight with 12 tackles (six solo) and a team-high 5.5 sacks in addition to batting down three passes at the line of scrimmage over the first four games of 2016.

He ranks fourth in the country in sacks-per-game at 1.38, and his 5.5 sacks rank tied for sixth. Moa has contributed to a Bronco defensive line and overall defensive effort that has established itself as one of the best in the country through the season's opening month, leading the FBS with 4.25 sacks per game and ranking fifth in rushing defense (72.0 ypg).

The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame will announce five finalists for the award on Nov. 17, with the winner of the 2016 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award announced on Dec. 7. The formal presentation of the award will be held at the Celebration Dinner during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend on Jan. 20, 2017.

Moa is the seventh Bronco named to a national watch list this season, with today's addition also marking the 13th watch list to which the Bronco players have been named in 2016. Quarterback Brett Rypien (Walter Camp Player of the Year, Manning Award, Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien Award), running back Jeremy McNichols (Maxwell Award, Doak Walker Award), tight end Jake Roh (Mackey Award, Allstate AFCA Good Hands Team), kicker Tyler Rausa (Lou Groza Award), wide receiver Thomas Sperbeck (Biletnikoff Award) and linebacker Tanner Vallejo (Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Butkus Award).

2016 Boise State Football Preseason Watch List Members

QB Brett Rypien
Walter Camp Player of the Year Award
Manning Award
Maxwell Award
Davey O'Brien Award

RB Jeremy McNichols
Maxwell Award
Doak Walker Award

NT David Moa
Polynesian College Football Player of the Year

TE Jake Roh
Mackey Award
Allstate AFCA Good Hands Team

K Tyler Rausa
Lou Groza Award

WR Thomas Sperbeck
Biletnikoff Award

MLB Tanner Vallejo
Bronko Nagurski Trophy
• Butkus Award

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned