Women's Volleyball

Six Broncos Earn MW Postseason Honors

Nov. 28, 2016

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Mountain West Conference released its volleyball postseason honors this afternoon and among those honored are six Boise State Broncos. Sierra Nobley is the Mountain West Player of the Year, while Shawn Garus earned his second-consecutive MW Coach of the Year accolade.

Joining Nobley, a junior outside hitter, on the MW All-Conference Team are senior middle blocker Maddy O'Donnell, redshirt-junior middle blocker Kaitlyn Oliver and junior libero Maddi Osburn, while sophomore outside hitter Sabryn Roberts garnered honorable mention recognition. All four of Boise State's all-conference representatives are repeats from 2015, while Nobley and O'Donnell are three-time honorees joining a select group of nine Broncos all-time who have achieved all-conference status three or more times.

"Seeing five players recognized for all-conference awards is a great sign for our program," said Garus. "It shows that we have a lot of very talented individuals that are responsible for pushing our team to the top of the conference. I'm proud of each one of them individually and excited that they have been recognized at that level by the conference's coaches."

Sierra Nobley, from Scottsdale, Ariz., is the first Bronco in history to be named a conference player of the year. She leads the MW this year in total kills (493), kills per set (4.56), total points (555.5) and points per set (5.14). In addition, the junior is ranked 12th in the MW for digs per set at 2.69. Nobley is ranked 14th nationally for kills per set, 15th for points per set, 22nd for total points and 23rd for total kills. The outside hitter also has a MW-leading 16 doubles-doubles on the year.

"It's a tremendous honor for Sierra, she was the preseason player of the year and she did not disappoint during the regular season," Garus said. "She led the conference in points and kills, she's also near the top 10 in digs. It was a tremendous season for her and she just kept getting better all season long."

O'Donnell is second on the team in kills with 301 and leads the team in blocks with 137, which ranks tied for third in the MW and 45th nationally. She is fourth in the MW and 47th nationally for blocks per set at 1.27. The senior currently ranks seventh all-time at Boise State in career blocks with 383. The Irvine, Calif., native also led the team, ranks second in the MW and 32nd nationally for hitting percentage at .370. In addition, O'Donnell ranks second at Boise State for career hitting percentage at .369.

"Maddy O'Donnell being recognized as a senior, is great. I feel she had the best year of her career as a senior," commented Garus. "There were times that she was the best player on the court for our team. We are certainly going to miss her leadership and I'm really proud of all she has achieved during her career."

Oliver is a two-time All-MW honoree earning the same recognition as a sophomore last year. She has 254 kills and 102 blocks on the year, while averaging 2.35 kills and 0.94 blocks per set. The redshirt-junior from Helena, Mont., is second on the team, third in the MW and 55th nationally for hitting percentage at .357. She is also the current school record holder for career hitting percentage at .372.

Maddi Osburn earned her second straight postseason accolade as a libero. She is coming off an outstanding regular season where she set the school record for digs in a season with 524. That total leads the MW and is 69th nationally. The junior from Nampa, Idaho, also leads the MW and is 49th in the NCAA for digs per set at 4.85.

Sabryn Roberts received honorable mention recognition as an outside hitter. Roberts tallied 294 kills, third on the team, 77 digs and 52 blocks during the season. The sophomore from Torrance, Calif., averaged 2.72 kills and 0.48 blocks per set.

Last year Shawn Garus became the first Boise State coach to ever earn conference coach of the year recognition. This year he adds his second-straight Mountain West Coach of the Year award after guiding his team to a 25-6 overall record, a 16-2 conference mark, the team's first conference championship since 1988 and the program's first ever NCAA Tournament appearance.

Boise State opens NCAA Tournament play this Friday at 5:30 p.m. (MT) against the Western Kentucky Lady Toppers (30-2) at Stanford.


Name Class Position Institution

Sierra Nobley#% Jr. OH Boise State

Maddy O'Donnell#% Sr. MB Boise State

Kaitlyn Oliver% Jr. MB Boise State

Maddi Osburn% Jr. L Boise State

Sanja Čizmić Jr. OH Colorado State

Jasmine Hanna Jr. OH Colorado State

Kirstie Hillyer R-Fr. MB Colorado State

Katie Oleksak Fr. S Colorado State

Alexandra Poletto% Jr. MB Colorado State

Madison Morell% Sr. OH Nevada

Julia Warren^# Sr. OH/L New Mexico

Deja Harris% So. MB San Diego State

Alexandra Psoma So. OH San Diego State

Bree Hammel#% Sr. MB UNLV

Alexis Patterson# Jr. S UNLV

Lauren Anderson Jr. OH Utah State

Laura Beach#% Sr. MB Wyoming

Kayla Slofkiss% Sr. OH Wyoming

Honorable Mention:

Sabryn Roberts So. OH Boise State

Aleisha Coates Sr. OH Fresno State

Lyndsey Anderson Sr. S Nevada

Madison Foley Jr. OH Nevada

Nandyala Gama Jr. MB San José State

Player of the Year: Sierra Nobley, Jr., OH, Boise State

Freshman of the Year: Katie Oleksak, S, Colorado State

Newcomer of the Year: Kirstie Hillyer, R-Fr., MB, Colorado State

Coach of the Year: Shawn Garus, Boise State%

^ = 2013 honoree

# = 2014 honoree

% = 2015 honoree

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned