Athlon Releases Preseason All-MW Teams

June 16, 2016

BOISE, Idaho â€" Fifteen members of the Boise State football team were recognized on Athlon Sports' Preseason All-Mountain West Teams, the magazine announced Thursday.

The 15 selections were the most in the league, and included eight players on offense, six on defense and one on special teams. The magazine also predicted a Boise State-San Diego State match-up in the Mountain West Championship Game.

Offensively, quarterback Brett Rypien, running back Jeremy McNichols (all-purpose), wide receiver Thomas Sperbeck and offensive lineman Mario Yakoo were named first-team Preseason All-Mountain West. Tight end Jake Roh was named to the second team, while offensive lineman Travis Averill garnered third-team accolades and wide receiver Chaz Anderson (all-purpose) and offensive lineman Steven Baggett were each named to the fourth team.

On defense, linebacker Tanner Vallejo garnered the Broncos' lone first-team nod. Defensive lineman Sam McCaskill, linebacker Ben Weaver, cornerback Jonathan Moxey and safety Dylan Sumner-Gardner were each named to the second team, while defensive lineman Gabe Perez was named to the third team.

Kicker Tyler Rausa was named the league's top kicker, garnering first-team accolades.

The complete Preseason All-Mountain West Teams can be found HERE.

The 2016 campaign and its build-up will be marked by a celebration of 30 Years on The Blue for Boise State Football. Leading up to the Broncos' home opener against Washington State, Boise State will look back on some of the top games, moments, teams and players from the past 30 years on The Blue.

During the season, the Broncos will honor the greatest players to hit The Blue, in addition to recognizing the Fiesta Bowl-champion 2006 team on the 10th anniversary of its historic, undefeated season.

Season tickets for the 2016 season, starting at $165, are available at, or by calling (208) 426-4737.

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned