Men's Basketball

Hutchison Honored by USBWA

March 7, 2017

ST. LOUIS - Boise State junior Chandler Hutchison was named to the USBWA All-District VIII Team, as announced Tuesday by the United States Basketball Writers Association. District VIII encompasses all Division I schools in Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming.

Through 29 games, Hutchison leads the Broncos in scoring (17.2 ppg), rebounding (8.0 rpg) and steals (1.2 spg), while ranking second on the team in assists (2.8 apg). He is shooting 50 percent from the floor and 40.7 percent from beyond the arc. Hutchison is two points shy of becoming the first player in Boise State history to record 500 points, 200 rebounds and 75 assists in a single season.

The USBWA District VIII Team comprised of 11 players. Hutchison was one of seven Mountain West representatives. It is the most MW student-athletes to make the USBWA All-District VIII Team since also landing seven honorees in 2003-04. Voting is done by the USBWA's national membership of 900-plus. The USBWA has selected All-District Teams since the 1956-57 season, its founding year.

This marks the fourth straight season a Bronco was tabbed all-district by the USBWA and sixth time in the last 12 years. Hutchison's former teammates James Webb III (2015-16), Derrick Marks (2014-15) and Anthony Drmic (2013-14) also earned USBWA recognition. Previously, Coby Karl (2005-06) and Reggie Larry (2007-08) took home the honor.

2016-17 USBWA All-District VIII Team
Elijah Brown, New Mexico
Gian Clavell, Colorado State
Tyler Hall, Montana State
Chandler Hutchison, Boise State
Kyle Kuzma, Utah
Marcus Marshall, Nevada
Eric Mika, BYU (Player of the Year)
Jalen Moore, Utah State
Cameron Oliver, Nevada
Emmanuel Omogbo, Colorado State
Derrick White, Colorado

Coach of the Year: Eric Musselman, Nevada

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned