Track & Field

Uchikoshi Goes Back-To-Back in Steeplechase

May 11, 2018

Photo Gallery

Meet Results

CLOVIS, Calif. -
Despite a 40 minute delay to the men's 3,000m steeplechase, Yusuke Uchikoshi persevered and claimed his second-consecutive steeplechase title at the Mountain West Outdoor Track and Field Championships Friday night in Clovis, Calif.

The native of Saitama-shi, Saitama, Japan, sat in second place for the majority of the race and waited until the last 600 meters to begin his kick that no one else could match. He becomes the fourth back-to-back steeplechase champion in MW history, joining Elmar Engholm (New Mexico, 2015-16), Josh McAdams (BYU, 2004-05) and Shane Rogers (Air Force, 2000-01).

The women's 3,000m steeplechase brought the Broncos 12 points as Anna McDonald led the way and took third place thanks to a time of 10:13.34. Minttu Hukka was right behind in fourth with a 10:16.38 and Kyra Lopez (10:34.89) chipped in a point courtesy of an eighth-place day.

Kendra Noneman stepped up big for the women's team in the hammer throw, taking sixth place thanks to a personal-best mark of 185-8 (56.61m). The sophomore's performance was the best finish for a Bronco hammer thrower at the conference championships since Hayli Bozarth took first in 2014.

On a day where the majority of the track events saw athletes attempting to qualify for tomorrow's finals, the Bronco 1,500m crew shined on both the women's and men's sides.

Alexis Fuller (4:36.69) and Allie Ostrander (4:36.76) were under control in winning their respective 1,500m preliminary heats. The two ran almost identical races that saw other runners take the early leads, but the Broncos calmly made gradual moves over the last 400 meters to solidify the two victories.

The 1,500m men were equally impressive as six of the seven Boise State athletes secured spots in tomorrow's final. Ty Jordan (3:57.26), Andrew Rafla (3:55.25), Addison Dehaven (3:57.46), Jeff Lautenslager (3:55.65), Tom Richardson (3:56.18) and Melika Ghali (3:58.05) all took care of business and locked up six opportunities to contend for team points.

The women's 800m was another prosperous event for the Blue and Orange as Amy Pfaff (2:10.11), Sadi Henderson (2:11.66) and Kristie Schoffield (2:11.66) all automatically advanced to the women's 800m finals with first or second-place finishes in their respective heats.

Noah Horsburgh and Jacob Grinwis both advanced on time with a 1:53.50 and 1:54.22, respectively, good for eighth and ninth place.

Bryce Kirby ripped off a 10.47 in the 100m preliminaries to secure the fastest time of the day. He followed it up with a 21.92 to take ninth in the 200m preliminaries, giving him the final qualifying spot in the event.

Boise State had athletes competing in the shot put on both the men's and women's sides. Courtney Hutchinson (43-2.25 / 13.16m) led the way with an 11th-place day while Baylee Dodd (40-2.25 / 12.25m) was 15th. Chris Kiley also took 15th in the men's competition thanks to a mark of 43-3.25 (13.19m).

The final day of the championships will take place tomorrow (Saturday) with the women's javelin getting things started at 2 p.m. PT.

Mountain West Outdoor Track and Field Championships - Results

Hammer | 6. Kendra Noneman - 185-8 (56.61m)
Shot Put |
11. Courtney Hutchinson - 43-2.25 (13.16m) and 15. Baylee Dodd - 40-2.25 (12.25m)
800m (Prelim) | 1. Amy Pfaff - 2:10.11*, 2. Sadi Henderson - 2:11.66*, 5. Kristie Schoffield - 2:11.69*, 14. Kari Taylor - 2:17.06 and 17. Morgan Diefendorf - 2:19.25
1,500m (Prelim) | 1. Alexis Fuller - 4:36.69* and 2. Allie Ostrander - 4:36.76*
3,000m Steeplechase | 3. Anna McDonald - 10:13.34, 4. Minttu Hukka - 10:16.38, 8. Kyra Lopez - 10:34.89 and 11. Malia Pivec - 10:45.63

Hammer | 9. Drew Lindsley - 164-9 (50.22m)
Shot Put | 15. Chris Kiley - 43-3.25 (13.19m)
100m (Prelim) | 1. Bryce Kirby - 10.47*
200m (Prelim) | 9. Bryce Kirby - 21.92*
800m (Prelim) | 8. Noah Horsburgh - 1:53.50*, 9. Jacob Grinwis - 1:54.22* and 11. Cade Greseth - 1:55.67
1,500m (Prelim) |
6. Ty Jordan - 3:57.26*, 7. Andrew Rafla - 3:55.25*, 8. Addison Dehaven - 3:57.46*, 9. Jeff Lautenslager - 3:55.65*, 10. Tom Richardson - 3:56.18*, 12. Melika Ghali - 3:58.05 and 14. Leif Everson - 4:01.10
3,000m Steeplechase | 1. Yusuke Uchikoshi - 9:02.36

*Denotes an athlete advanced to the final
Italics denotes a PB

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned