Sperbeck On Biletnikoff Watch List

July 13, 2016

BOISE, Idaho -- Boise State wide receiver Thomas Sperbeck was named to the Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation announced Wednesday.

The Biletnikoff Award, named for Pro Football Hall of Fame and former Oakland Raiders wide receiver Fred Biletnikoff, recognizes college football's outstanding receiver, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, running back, etc.).

Sperbeck, who is a Biletnikoff Award candidate for the second-straight year, enjoyed a record-breaking season in 2015, matching the Boise State single-season mark with 88 receptions and establishing the standard for receiving yards with 1,412. Both figures led all receivers in the Mountain West, and his eight touchdown grabs were tied for second-most in the conference. Nationally, Sperbeck ranked sixth in receiving yards and 17th in receptions.

The Carmichael, Calif. native set a pair of Boise State single-game records last season, hauling in 20 passes for 281 yards against New Mexico on Nov. 14. Both totals were also the top single-game marks by an FBS receiver in 2015.

Over the past two seasons, Sperbeck has emerged as one of the top go-to wideouts, racking up 139 catches for 2,289 yards since entering the starting lineup in Boise State's sixth game of the 2014 campaign. He capped his 2014 season by being named the VIZIO Fiesta Bowl Offensive MVP after catching 12 balls for 199 yards in Boise State's 38-30 victory over No. 10 Arizona.

Sperbeck is the sixth Bronco to be named to a preseason watch list in 2016, joining Boise State quarterback Brett Rypien (Maxwell Award), running back Jeremy McNichols (Maxwell Award), tight end Jake Roh (Mackey Award), kicker Tyler Rausa (Lou Groza Award) and linebacker Tanner Vallejo (Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Butkus Award).

Boise State opens the 2016 season Saturday, Sept. 3 at Louisiana. The Broncos' home opener is the following Saturday, Sept. 10, against Washington State.

The 2016 Biletnikoff Award will be presented live at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 8.

2016 Boise State Football Preseason Watch List Members

QB Brett Rypien
Maxwell Award

RB Jeremy McNichols
Maxwell Award

TE Jake Roh
Mackey Award

K Tyler Rausa
Lou Groza Award

WR Thomas Sperbeck
Biletnikoff Award

MLB Tanner Vallejo
Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Butkus Award

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned